History of IPL (Indian Premier League)


Start of IPL

The Indian Premier League, popularly known as IPL, is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India that was founded in 2008 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The IPL has become one of the most popular and lucrative cricket leagues in the world, attracting top players from all over the globe.

The inaugural season of the IPL was held in 2008, with eight teams representing different cities in India. The teams were owned by various investors, including Bollywood stars, businessmen, and industrialists. The first IPL match was played on April 18, 2008, between Kolkata Knight Riders, owned by Bollywood Superstar Shahrukh Khan, and Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. The tournament was a huge success, drawing large crowds and generating significant revenue.

IPL Over The Years:

Over the years, the IPL has evolved into a major sporting event that millions of people worldwide watch. The league has expanded and now has 10 teams. The tournament is played over a period of approximately two months. The teams compete in a round-robin format followed by playoffs, culminating in the IPL final.

The IPL has also been a platform for emerging cricket talent in India. Several young players have used the IPL as a springboard to launch their careers, and some have represented the Indian national team. The league has also attracted top international players, such as Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, and David Warner, among others.

IPL Controversy:

However, the IPL has not been without controversy. In 2013, the league was hit by a match-fixing scandal that suspended several players and team officials. The BCCI has since taken measures to tighten its control over the league and prevent any further such incidents.

Contribution of IPL for T20 Cricket:

Despite the challenges, the IPL remains one of the world’s most watched and celebrated cricket leagues. The league promoted T20 cricket all over the world and helped in enhancing audience engagement in this fast-paced and newly formed format of cricket. The league has been a game-changer in terms of the commercialization of cricket, and it has created a platform for cricket players to showcase their skills and earn lucrative contracts. With each passing season, the IPL continues to push the boundaries of what is possible in the world of cricket, and it remains an important part of India’s sporting landscape.

Which Team won the Maximum IPL Titles?

Mumbai Indians (MI) have won the maximum number of IPL trophies to date. They have 5 titles in their bag. 

Which individual Player won the most IPL Titles?

Current Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma has won the most significant number of IPL titles to date. He has won 5 titles with his present team MI, and prior to that, he also bagged one title with his previous team Deccan Chargers. 

IPL Winners to date:

Rajasthan Royals are the first-ever winner of the IPL, and Gujarat Titans are the latest addition to the list. Let’s have an overview of IPL Winners to date from 2008:  

YearWinnerRunner UpVenueNumber of teamsPlayer of the Match
2022Gujarat TitansRajasthan Royals Ahmedabad10
2021Chennai Super KingsKolkata Knight RidersDubai8Faf du Plessis
2020Mumbai IndiansDelhi CapitalsDubai8Trent Boult
2019Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsHyderabad8Jasprit Bumrah
2018Chennai Super KingsSunrisers HyderabadMumbai8Shane Watson
2017Mumbai IndiansRising Pune SupergiantsHyderabad8Krunal Pandya
2016Sunrisers HyderabadRoyal Challengers BangaloreBangalore8Ben Cutting
2015Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsKolkata8Rohit Sharma
2014Kolkata Knight RidersKings XI PunjabBangalore8Manish Pandey
2013Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsKolkata9Kieron Pollard
2012Kolkata Knight RidersChennai Super KingsChennai9Manvinder Bisla
2011Chennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers BangaloreChennai10Murali Vijay
2010Chennai Super KingsMumbai IndiansMumbai8Suresh Raina
2009Deccan ChargersRoyal Challengers BangaloreJohhanesburg8Anil Kumble
2008Rajasthan RoyalsChennai Super KingsMumbai8Yusuf Pathan